If you wish to contact Irish Farmhouse Holidays, please complete the form below and we will reply to your enquiry as soon as possible. Alternatively, you can reach us by telephone, e-mail or via our social networks. Telephone: +353 (0)71 982 2222 Email:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message

Not a Bot (required)

Login form
Sorry, User can NOT register!

Ireland’s Ancient East

Newgrange in County Meath part of Ireland's Ancient East

Ireland’s Ancient East is a new and exciting initiative that aims to promote the rich history and diverse landscapes of the 17 beautiful counties involved. Visitors are promised an easy and enjoyable exploration through 5,000 fascinating years of history and culture. It is an ideal way to plan your itinerary when visiting the Emerald Isle, as it appeals to history lovers, outdoor enthusiasts and adventure seekers alike.  While experiencing captivating storytelling about various historical attractions and cultural hidden gems, you also get the opportunity to appreciate the undeniable beauty of Irish landscapes, with stunning views in spectacular settings.

The Three Sections

The Land of 5000 Dawns
Newgrange in County Meath part of Ireland's Ancient East
reland’s Ancient East is split into three separate sections in order to make it easier for visitors to plan their routes. The Land of 5000 Dawns encompasses six counties, which are Cavan, Longford, Louth, Meath, Monaghan and Westmeath. Its main features are that of Neolithic tombs, prehistoric sites and mythical landscapes, with key attractions including Newgrange and Belvedere House.

The Historic Heartlands
Kilkenny Castle, County Kilkenny part of Ireland's Ancient EastThe next section is called The Historic Heartlands and it covers the seven counties of Offaly, Laois, Kildare, Tipperary, Kilkenny, Limerick and Carlow. This part of Ireland’s Ancient East is prided on its medieval castles, distilleries and Mesolithic hunting grounds, with some highlights including the Rock of Cashel, Clonmacnoise and Kilkenny Castle.

Celtic Coast
Glendalough in County Wicklow part of Ireland's Ancient EastThe final section is that of the Celtic Coast, which takes in the counties of Wicklow, Wexford, Waterford and East Cork. It is renowned for its fantastic monasteries, Viking cities and Titanic towns, with attractions such as Glendalough and Hook Head not to be missed.


Overall, Ireland’s Ancient East offers so much to visitors and truly is an unforgettable experience that is perfect for making unique and everlasting memories. While exploring this route, you will be enjoying busy and exciting days, discovering the beauty and stories of the Irish landscapes. It is important to have a good touring base in order to ensure you have comfortable accommodation and friendly surroundings waiting for you after your explorations, Irish farmhouses are ideal for this, with the promise of a cosy bed, delicious breakfasts and welcoming hosts.

View Farmhouse Bed and Breakfasts

Translate »